New Who Season Five Report Card

See David’s S5 Report Card and Tansy’s S5 Report Card through the clickies! (See our Season One Report Cards here, our Season Two Report Cards here, our Season Three Report Cards here and our Season Four Report Cards here.)

We would like to thank everyone who nominated our “New Who in Conversation” series for the William Atheling Jr Award again this year – it’s a great honour to be on the ballot! Voting for the annual Ditmar Awards (which the Atheling is included in) is open to all members of  Continuum X (2014 Natcon – Melbourne) and Conflux 9 (2013 Natcon – Canberra), and can be done online.

SEASON FIVE REPORT CARD – Tehani

Picture28The Doctor: Matt Smith

So, this is where I came in. I started with Matt Smith, and I’m a devotee, and this season is just fantastic in so many ways, mostly because he IS the Doctor. I started here, so I don’t know if I would have become a Doctor Who convert if I’d started with Eccleston or Tennant instead, but even though I love them both too, Matt Smith is still my favourite New Who Doctor. He subsumes the pain and sorrow we saw very clearly in Nine and Ten, but still manages to use it even when he’s hyped and manic and child-like, which I adore. Season Five is a heck of a ride, and I loved it!

The Companions:

Amy Pond: Karen Gillan

Little Amelia Pond and grown up Amy are brilliant. I don’t think Amy always gets the best character stuff early on, but she grows and changes and the character becomes so much more than we could have hoped for after the first episode, and Gillan bounces beautifully off Smith, which is completely adorable.

seriesly-doctor-who-L-wUT9UcRory Williams: Arthur Darvill

Rory is possibly my favourite companion ever, partly because he’s such a bumbling yet completely competent person, partly because his devotion to Amy is just gorgeous (even though he’s clearly well aware of her flaws) and partly because he too gets to grow and change over the course of the season. And get killed. A lot.

Recurring Characters:

River Song: Alex Kingston

Hmm, wait, did I say Rory was my favourite? I meant River! Tough yet in some ways fragile, cynical while absolutely still wide-eyed about the universe, and mad about the Doctor while completely understanding all the issues that position contains! She’s awesome, and I adore her. Um, yes, maybe I adore them all, and this season is my favourite ever?

What is your favourite episode of this season?

drwhos5ep5title-e1274753670222Just ONE? Urgh. Um, hmm, “Eleventh Hour”, because that’s where it all begins? “Vincent”, because it always makes me cry? “The Time of Angels/Flesh and Stone” because angels and River and SET UPS??! If I have to pick just one, I think I’ll go with “Vincent”, because I can watch it over and over and love it every time.

Least favourite episode?

“Vampires of Venice”. It grew on me a bit, discussing it in our review this time around, but it’s a low point in a really great season, for me.

Favourite guest performance?

vincent2VINCENT! Played by Tony Curran, so beautifully.

Describe this season in one word!

Brilliant!

Grade: A+

We’ve already reviewed:

“Rose”, S01E01

“Dalek”, S01E06

“Father’s Day”, S01E08

“The Empty Child/The Doctor Dances”, S01E09/10

“Bad Wolf/The Parting of the Ways”, S01E12/13

Season One Report Card – DavidTansyTehani

“The Christmas Invasion”, 2005 Christmas Special

“New Earth”, S02E01

“School Reunion”, S02E03

“The Girl in the Fireplace”, S02E04

“Rise of the Cybermen/Age of Steel”, S02E05/06

“Army of Ghosts/Doomsday”, S02E12/13

Season Two Report Card – DavidTansyTehani

“The Runaway Bride”, 2006 Christmas Special

“Smith and Jones”, S03E01

“The Shakespeare Code/Gridlock”, S03E02/E03

“Human Nature/The Family of Blood”, S03E08/E09

“Blink”, SO3E10 (with special guest reviewer Joanne Anderton)

Utopia/The Sound of Drums/Last of the Timelords” S03E12/13/14

Classic Who Conversation podcast – Spearhead from Space (1970)

Season Three Report Card – DavidTansyTehani

Classic Who Conversation podcast – Genesis of the Daleks (1975)

“Partners in Crime”, S04E01 (with special guest reviewer Lynne M Thomas)

“The Sontaran Strategem/The Poison Sky”, S04E05/06

“Silence in the Library/Forest of the Dead”, S04E09/10

“Turn Left”, S04E12

“The Stolen Earth/Journey’s End”, S04E13/14 

Season Four Report Card – DavidTansyTehani

The Specials: “The Next Doctor / Planet of the Dead / The Waters of Mars

The Specials: “The End of Time”

“The Eleventh Hour”, S05E01

“The Beast Below / Victory of the Daleks”, S05E02/03

“The Time of Angels / Flesh and Stone”, S05E04/05

“The Vampires of Venice / Amy’s Choice”, S05E06/07

“The Hungry Earth / Cold Blood”, S05E08/09

“Vincent and the Doctor / The Lodger”, S05E10/11

“The Pandorica Opens / The Big Bang”, S05E12/13

A Christmas Carol, 2010 Christmas special

1 Comment

Filed under TV

One response to “New Who Season Five Report Card

  1. Pingback: A Conversational Journey through New Who – Season Five Report Card | Ebon Shores

Have your say