Tag Archives: Ditmars

Ditmar nominations are now open

via Jeremy G. Byrne

Ditmar Nominations Open

Nominations for the 2013 Australian SF (“Ditmar”) awards are now open
and will remain open until one minute before midnight Canberra time on
Wednesday, 20th of March, 2013 (ie. 11.59pm, GMT+10). Likewise, postal
nominations must be postmarked no later than Wednesday, 20th March, 2013.

The current rules, including Award categories can be found at:


You must include your name with any nomination. Nominations will be
accepted only from natural persons active in fandom, or from full or
supporting members of Conflux 9, the 2013 Australian National SF
Convention. Where a nominator may not be known to the Ditmar
subcommittee, the nominator should provide the name of someone known to
the subcommittee who can vouch for the nominator’s eligibility.
Convention attendance or membership of an SF club are among the criteria
which qualify a person as “active in fandom”, but are not the only
qualifying criteria. If in doubt, nominate and mention your qualifying
criteria. If you received this email directly, you almost certainly qualify.

You may nominate as many times in as many Award categories as you like,
although you may only nominate a particular person, work or achievement
once. The Ditmar subcommittee, which is organised under the auspices the
Standing Committee of the Natcon Business Meeting, will rule on
situations where eligibility is unclear. A partial and unofficial
eligibility list, to which everyone is encouraged to add, can be found here:


While online nominations are preferred, nominations can be made in a
number of ways:

1. online, via this form:


2. via email to ditmars@sf.org.au; or

3. by post to:

6 Florence Road

And a reminder from me about FableCroft’s eligible works 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Awards

It’s Ditmar nominating time!

The nomination period for the Ditmar awards is now open. All works must have been published for the first time in 2011 to be eligible. There’s a quite comprehensive list of eligible works for all categories over here – if there are things missing, you can add to it, cos it’s a wiki 🙂

Once you’ve figured out what you’d like to nominate, head over here and do it! Just about everyone is eligible to nominate (to vote on the final shortlists, you have to be a Natcon member from 2011 or for 2012, but no such restrictions for nomination).

For reference, I’ve listed below things that FableCroft or me are eligible for – I do encourage you to go look at that lovely big list of eligible works though, because there was some brilliant stuff put out last year!

After the Rain is eligible for Best Collected Work, as are all the stories it contains (all Best Short Story category):

from the dry heart to the sea by joanne anderton

powerplant by dave luckett

daughters of the deluge by lyn battersby

when the bone men come by peter cooper

the birth of water cities by angela rega

wet work by jason nahrung

fruit of the pipal tree by thoraiya dyer

europe after the rain by lee battersby

heaven by jo langdon

visitors by peter m ball

mouseskin by kathleen jennings

offerings by suzanne j willis

the shadow on the city of my sky by robert hoge

my flood husband by sally newham

eschaton and coda by dirk flinthart

And the cover art for the book, by Gaston Locanto, is certainly eligible for Best Artwork.

In other categories, I am eligible for Best Fan Writer, and for the William Atheling Jr Award for Criticism and Review, both the blog series on the Vorkosigan Saga that Alex Pierce and I did, and the ongoing “Reviewing New Who” series (David McDonald, Tansy Rayner Roberts and me) are eligible.

I also contributed to the Australian Speculative Fiction in Focus reviews site (as a writer and maintainer) and to the Natcon Fifty Souvenir Book (layout and design by Amanda Rainey, contributors = fandom), both of which are eligible for Best Fan Publication.

It would be remiss of me to not recommend to you a couple of my favourites from the past year:

Joanne Anderton is eligible for Best New Talent (and well and truly deserves it, for my mind – her debut novel, Debris, is excellent (and also eligible in the Novel category!).

Kathleen Jennings is also eligible for Best New Talent, and her artwork on the cover of The Freedom Maze and in the graphic story “Finishing School” from Steampunk!: An Anthology of Fantastically Rich and Strange Stories are both eligible for Best Artwork. In a really clever trick, Kathleen is also eligible for Best Fan Artist, particularly for her very cool series “The Dalek Game“.

That’s not to say I haven’t enjoyed a big stack of other work this year, and I will be nominating accordingly, but PLEASE check out the eligibles for yourself and NOMINATE!


Filed under Awards

Ditmar pins

Aussie SF folks – if you were named on the Ditmar ballot this year, you will receive a Ditmar pin, which I have in my possession for you! Please let me know if you’ll be attending the Aurealis Awards or Continuum, or if we need to make other arrangements to get you your pin!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

It’s Ditmar time!

 The awards season just keeps on rolling. Any person active in fandom is eligible to nominate works in the annual Ditmar Awards, and the more people who nominate, the more diverse and representative the shortlist will be! Want to know what’s eligible? We’ve made it easy for you, with the Ditmar Eligible Works list! Please note while this list is comprehensive, it is not necessarily complete – it’s a living document!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized


 And it’s all terribly exciting! This ballot rocks, and everything on it is awesome (ahem, not JUST because some of it is stuff I worked on in some way! Although there is that – I highlighted them 🙂 )

The Ditmar subcommittee are pleased to announce that voting for the Australian SF ("Ditmar") Award for 2010 is now open, and will remain
open until one minute before midnight Perth time on Wednesday, 1st of September, 2010 (ie. 11.59pm, GMT+8).

The 2010 ballot is as follows:


Filed under Uncategorized